Skip to main content

Books like Harry Potter

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's StoneThe Harry Potter-series influenced a generation of young readers, but was although popular in all age groups. Most have read the books and watched the movies – the following books are similar to Harry Potter and may be a good choice to fetch the magic of Harry Potter again for you. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone on Amazon.com.

There can’t be a second Harry Potter, but there are a lot of books with young heroes and heroines. Often their adventures comes as a total surprise into their world. And most times they can’t look back at an easy upbringing. But they fight for a better life, for themselves and others.

Without further ado, this are the “Books like Harry Potter”:


The Magicians by Lev Grossmann

The Magicians by Lev Grossmann

The life of Quentin Coldwater is changed forever after his entrance interview to Princeton. He finds his interviewer dead, but although finds an envelope with his name on it. It holds a mysterious manuscript. It leads Quentin in an world of obsession, privilege, freedom and power. But his new idyll can´t last forever.

The Magicians on Amazon.com.


Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

Government agencies breed child geniuses and train them as soldiers. They should develop a secure defense against a hostile alien race – the buggers – and end a hundred year old war. Ender Wiggin ist drafted to go to the Battle School in Earth orbit. Here will he and other kids be trained.

Mock battles in zero gravitiy show Ender’s potential as a leader and general. But he although has many fears and is lonely.

This book won the Hugo and Nebula Awards.

Ender’s Game on Amazon.com.


The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins

The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins

Somewhere in the ruins of North America is the nation of Panem. The 12 districts of Panem are centralized controlled from the “Capitol”. The districts have to send every year one boy and girl between the age of twelve and eighteen to the Capitol. They have to participate in the annual Hunger Games. A fight to the death between the 24 kids from the 12 districts. At the end only one should survive and come out of the arena.

Harry Potter is a book for everyone. I wouldn’t have a problem to let a 10 year old read it. The Hunger Games? Kids are fighting kids to the death! This is clearly a book for young adults (and older). The series is through the movies well known enough, but the books do have a lot more details and their own charm.

The Hunger Games Trilogy on Amazon.com.


Percy Jackson by Rick Riordan

Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan

Percy Jacksons is a 12 year old boy with ADHD. He is moved from private school to private school, has momentary lapses with sometimes strange behavior. His world changed 180 degrees when he finds out, that he is the son of a greek god.

This series by Rick Riordan has a lot of similarities to Harry Potter. A group of kids become friends and live and grow up through a lot of adventures. Instead of magic it is the power of the ancient greek gods. In this first installment they have to find Zeus’s stolen thunderbolt. Like in Harry Potter there are more books in this series, too.

Another similarity to Harry Potter: Percy Jackson already has been on the “big screen” and two movies have been done. But the movies have some big changes to the storyline, especially that Percy Jackson starts out as an 16 year old, instead at the age of 12.

Percy Jackson and the Olympians on Amazon.com.


The Hero and the Crown by Robin Mckinley

The Hero and the Crown by Robin Mckinley

Aerin is the daughter of Damar’s king. But she has never been accepted as full royalty, both in and out of the royal court. The reason is her mother – a witchwoman. It is said, that she enspelled the king in marrying her with the plan to get her heir to rule Damar. She died of despair when she found out, that she had borne a daughter instead of a son.

None of them, not even Aerin herself, can predict her future-for she is to be the true hero who will wield the power of the Blue Sword…

The Hero and the Crown on Amazon.com.


The Golden Compass: His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman

The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman

Lyra Belacqua is satisfied to run wild among the scholars of Jodan College. Always at her side, is her daemon familiar. But the arrival of her fearsome uncle, Lord Asriel, draws her to the heart of a terrible struggle — a struggle born of Gobblers and stolen children, witch clans and armored bears.

On her way towards the danger in the cold North, Lyra doesn’t suspect the shocking truth: It is her destiny to win – or lose – this more-than-mortal battle.

The Golden Compass on Amazon.com.


Sabriel (Old Kingdom) by Garth Nix

Sabriel (Old Kingdom) by Garth Nix

Sabriel has lived outside the walls of the Old Kingdom since her childhood. Away from the poser of Free Magic and the Dead who refuse to stay dead. Now Sabriel has to good back. Her father – the Abhorsen – is missing and Sabriel has to find him. With her are Mogget and Touchstone. Mooget is a powerful spirit in feline forms – but perhaps malevolent. Touchstone is a young Charter Mage.

They travel deep into the Old Kingdom, where Sabriel has to confront a great evil and discover her own hidden destiny.

Sabriel (Old Kingdom) on Amazon.com.


Fangirl: A Novel - 1

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

There are a lot of crazy Harry Potter-Fans out there – crazy in a positive way, but still crazy. 😉 Fangirl is like a mirror book to them. It tells the story of two sisters – Cath and Wren. As kids they lived in the world of the Simon Snow series. They read the books over and over again, talkes in forums about them, wrote fan fiction and dressed up as characters for every movie premiere.

While Wren has grown out of her fandom, Cath can’t let go. They will be going to college, but Wren told Cath, that she doesn´t want to be roommates with here. So Cath is on her own and outside of her comfort zone. Her roomate is surly and has an always-around boyfriend, her fiction-writing professor hates fan fiction and her handsome classmate wants to talk only about words. At the same time she can’t stop worrying about her father – who has now to live on his own, too.

Can Cath do this without Wren? Start living her own life? Writing her own stories? Does she even want this and leave Simon Snow behind?

Fangirl on Amazon.com.


Do you know more Books like Harry Potter? Feel free to share your recommendation in the comments.



Related Posts



No Comments found


Got a question or an opinion ? Share it with us !

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *