Skip to main content

Books like Outlander

Outlander by Diana GabaldonThe first Outlander-book was published by Diana Gabaldon in the year 1992. Since than quite a few books followed and the hype around the book started to grow in the last couple of years. So that it is now even a popular TV Series. If you are through all the Outlander-books here a few good recommendations for your next read. (All eight books of the Outlander-series can be found here on Amazon.com)

Without further ado, this are the “Books like Outlander”:


Footsteps in Time (The After Cilmeri Series Book 1) by Sarah Woodbury

The After Cilmeri Series by Sarah Woodbury

The first book came out in 2011 and the series has already grown to 10 books. Surprisingly without loosing any quality on the way.

The series starts with two teenagers who travel through time and find themselves in the year 1282. Llywelyn ap Gruffydd – the Prince of Wales – should have been killed. Because of their time travel he doesn’t die and history is changed. The first book and the following books tell the story of what might have happended had Llywelyn lived. And of course the story of the two teenagers is told, too.

Between all the history and adventures will although be time for romance, but not as much and explicit as in Outlander.

The After Cilmeri Series on Amazon.com.


Veil of Time by by Claire R. McDougall

Veil of Time by Claire R. McDougall

Modern woman travels through time to Scotland. That´s the obvious big similarity to Outlander for this book. But instead of rebels our heroine Maggie meets the nobleman Fergus – the brother of the king. He wants her to stay in his time and create a live together.
Veil of Time on Amazon.com.


Bound to the Highlander by Kate Robbins

Bound to the Highlander by Kate Robbins

Yes, yes – another book about romance in Scotland. Seems like a really romantic folk up there. But the “The Highland Chiefs”-series has to make its story without time travel.

Aileana Chattan discovers after a devastating loss, that she is to wed neighboring chief and baron: James MacIntosh. She despises him and his traitorous clan – but nonetheless has to do her duty. On the other side James MacIntosh is not much into this marriage, too. He looks for ways to break the years old marriage contract.

From this fragment of the story you probably can guess enough of the outcome, but it is the story that gets them there, that is of interest.

Bound to the Highlander on Amazon.com.


The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley

The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley

The story of King Arthur has been told countless times. Mostly from the sight of the man in the story or at least. The The Mists of Avalon concentrates instead on the women of the story and retolds this brilliant saga through their eyes.

The tale is told from the views of the Priestess of Avalon Morgaine (Morgana Le Fey) and the Christian princess and future queen of Camelot Gwenhwyfar (Gwynivere).

The Mists of Avalon on Amazon.com.


Mine Till Midnight (Hathaways Book 1 ) by Lisa Kleypas

Mine Till Midnight (Hathaways Book 1) by Lisa Kleypas

After the family of Amelia Hathaway gets an unexpected inheritance, they are elevated to the ranks of aristocracy in 19th century London. Instead of looking after her siblings, Amelia has now to navigate through a new life.

She gets attracted to Cam Rohan – a tall, dark, dangerously handsome and extremely wealthy man. He is tired of his high society life and longs to return to his “uncivilized” Gypsy roots. Amelia appeals him for help and he wants to offer her friendship. But the desire for each other gets into their way …

Mine Till Midnight on Amazon.com.


Do you know more Books like Outlander? Feel free to share your recommendation in the comments.



Related Posts



Comments

Carmela 2. March 2016 at 8:13

Haven´t read the book, but love the Outlander tv series. I read “The After Cilmeri Series” and it is just a great series. More focused on adventure and subtle romance. Outlander (at least on TV) gets at times really “steamy” erotic.

Reply

Got a question or an opinion ? Share it with us !

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *